The Holy Land Trip

The Holy Land's Holy City

It’s now been 18 days since I arrived in Tel Aviv. This trip is winding down, as is the summer that has been extremely hectic, though incredibly rewarding.

Too much has happened since I’ve arrived here to fully describe in one post, and though I know I’ve said things like this before to myself, I’d like to follow up with details about the things I’ve seen and experienced here. It’s entirely possible, as I keep a travel journal wherever I go, but the question will be whether or not I summon the strength and patience to actually sit down and do it. We’ll see.

A brief teaser: I joined the biggest social protest to occur in Israel in years, saw some of the holiest sites to the three monotheistic religions, experienced the Israeli checkpoints in the occupied West Bank through the eyes of the Palestinians, and swam in the Dead Sea with approximately 200+ Orthodox Jews (settlers) and a gay Palestinian man. Not too shabby.

Leave a Reply

