Gee it’s great to be back home

Two months of traveling certainly takes its toll. Though I had amazing experiences that I will never forget, there’s nothing like coming back to a familiar place. I have all my stuff (though it is all still in the garage), can shower knowing the temperature stays constant, and the beautiful Rockies are right there to let me know which direction is west – something that was a tad frustrating in Lima. School starts this Monday and I couldn’t be more excited. Religion classes, philosophy, and Classical Greek will be taking up most of my semester and keeping me pleasantly occupied. I’ll be much more involved with my church this year playing with the worship band and meeting with a Bible study on Thursdays.

The past few days have been wonderfully mellow. Sleeping has been a priority, followed by eating and Facebook. I was able to finish up both The Fountainhead and A Thousand Splendid Suns as well, completely different but both great books. A trip to the gym on Monday left me with an extremely sore body and my arms with a range of motion similar to that of John McCain’s. Much time has been devoted to just sitting and enjoying the coffee, weather, smell of the rain, and the sunsets – usually more than one at a time. I love watching the sun fall behind the mountains and light up the clouds in the sky. It is one of my favorite Boulder activities.

In the coming months this blog will likely contain more posts about thoughts, ideas, or even papers I write in school, and less about my experiences and travel (though some will surely make their way in here). I look at it as more of a paper-saving journal to record and/or bounce around ideas or anything I feel like talking about.

“Gee, it’s great to be back home. Home is where I wanna be. I’ve been on the road so long my friend, and if you came along I know you couldn’t disagree.” – Simon and Garfunkel’s “Keep the Customer Satisfied”

3 thoughts on “Gee it’s great to be back home

  1. Although you had some wonderful adventures,
    your mother is glad you are back on
    American soil…at least until next May!
    Great to read your blogs…you are a good
    traveler!

  2. “Two months of traveling certainly takes its toll. Though I had amazing experiences that I will never forget, there’s nothing like coming back to a familiar place.”

    Agreed!! Glad you made it back okay. It sounds like you have some great opportunities this coming school year and I can’t wait to hear about them.

    God is good.

    • word. and your blog freakin BLOWS MY MIND. I’ll never attain that level of sophistication, so I will just continue to revel in it. The pictures, the stories… clearly your summer was pretty epic too, my friend.

Leave a comment